Monthly Archives: June 2017

Ohio Republicans Return Power to the Voter

People supporting a politician on a plank. Without the people, the politician will fall.For the first time in twelve years, Ohio Republican voters will decide their nominee for Governor. Before the Blackwell-Petro race of 2006, we have to go way back to 1986 to find the next contested Republican gubernatorial primary as the Ohio Republican Party leadership has chosen for themselves who should be in which statewide slot. Thanks to a new attitude in the Republican Party and under the leadership of Jane Timken, voters will pick the slate for the 2018 election.

The four expected Republican candidates for Ohio Governor were scheduled to appear last Saturday at the We The People Convention in Lewis Center, Ohio. Lt. Gov. Mary Taylor needed to attend to some family matters but hopes to reach out the attendees shortly, but the other three each gave presentations of about an hour. I will go over each of their speeches over the next week, but Attorney General Mike DeWine, Secretary of State John Husted, and US Representative Jim Renacci were all very well-received. They realize that the support of liberty-minded conservatives cannot be taken for granted in the election season.

In addition to the governor’s race, Ohio Secretary of State has two candidates, Frank LaRose and Dorothy Pelanda, as does the race for Treasurer, Clarence Mingo and Robert Sprague. Instead of having behind-the-scenes party leaders decide which pawn to place on which square, these candidates will have to persuade the Ohio Republican voters. This is a welcome development which hopefully ushers in a more welcoming engagement between the party and the people.